GovenorMarta Sáenz Correa
Total area25,020 km2
Population density58.67/km2
10 Largest Cities in Córdoba departement
San Andrés Sotavento
Planeta Rica
Ciénaga de Oro

Colombian department Cordoba

The department of Cordoba is one of the 32 departments of Colombia.  It is located north of the country, in the Colombian Caribbean region , overlooking the Caribbean Sea.  Bordered on the north by the Caribbean Sea , northeast with the Department of Sucre and the south by the Department of Antioquia.  It was created in 1952 and its capital is Monteria.

History of Cordoba

The history of the department of Cordoba has been established based on the various documents found in archives such as the National Archives of Colombia, the Archivo General de Indias, the Spanish chronicles left by including the Bachelor Martin Fernandez de Enciso and Fray Pedro Simon.  Also, by oral tradition and by recent research.
The name was taken by General José María Córdova as a tribute to the hero of independence for their important participation in the freedom of Colombia.

Stage Pre-Columbian

It ranges from the appearance of the first people who crossed the Sinu from North America over 6,000 years, until 1501 or so, the date on which up to now the department of Cordoba's first Spanish expedition.  At this stage the Zenues were the lords of these vast territories and developed one of the most prosperous cultures of America.
According to some researchers reached Zenues superior training.  However, by the destruction and looting of their graves to the arrival of the Spanish cannot assume the above opinions.  The archaeological discovery of San Jacinto in January 1992 has provided new evidence to clarify the controversy.

Colonial Period

It covers the period from 1500 to the Spanish emancipation in the first two decades of the nineteenth century.  In these three centuries the Spanish, founded cities, imposed a new economic, political, administrative and religious, mingling with them as evidenced by the existing racial typology in the region.

Republican Period

Beginning in the years of independence scream (1810-1819) until today.  However, this stage is bounded by the year 1952, establishing the Córdoba department, established to date Presegregacional stage and after it Posegregacional stage.  The department was created at the expense of the department of Bolivar.
The first is characterized by an unpopulated area, poor and forgotten.  With the consolidation and creation of the department of Cordoba by Law December 9, 1951 and ruled on June 18, 1952 the Department acquired regional autonomy which causes him considerable development.  Posegregacional stage begins which stretches to the present.

Geography of Cordoba

The department of Cordoba is located in the northwestern part of Colombia on the vast plains of the Caribbean.  It has an area of 25,020 km², which in terms of extension is similar to that of Sardinia.
Politically Córdoba department is divided in 30 municipalities, 5 of which belong to the coastal zone, 16 to the area or basin Sinu, and 9 of the San Jorge.It has approximately 260 townships, 210 villages and five police posts.

It is part of the Colombian Caribbean region with Sucre, Cesar, Magdalena, San Andres and Providencia, Bolívar, Atlántico and Guajira.  With an area of 25,058 km ², bounded on the north by the Atlantic Ocean, west, south and southeast to east Antioquia and Bolivar and Sucre. The Coast of Cordoba is 124 km and ranges from Arboletes on the border with Antioquia to Punta de Piedra on the border with the Department of Sucre.

The race is the result of crossing between Zenues who lived in the apartment in pre-Columbian times, blacks brought from Africa during the colonial capital in Arab immigrants especially from Lebanon and Syria, and the Spanish colonists. Each group provided input genetic, historical and folk.  The mixed race is in greater proportion in the middle and lower Sinu, where mixing with Syrian-Lebanese immigrants is appreciable.  Black to the coastal area and indigenous to the high Sinu and San Jorge where groups are also concentrated mulatto (black and white) and mulatto (black and Indian).

Climate in Cordoba

Cordova receives trade winds from the pacific in the southeast and northeast, also sea breezes from the Caribbean.  The average annual rainfall ranges from 1000mm in the lower Sinu and the coast to the south 4000mm.  Half the country receives an annual average ranging from 1,400 to 1,800 hours of light / year, 40% are between 1,800 and 2,200 hours of light / year and in some municipalities as Sahagun , Chinú Mompox and depression, this average increases and can vary from 2,200 to 2,600 hours light / year on average.

Due to the low average altitude is the territory of Cordoba, the bottom of the atmosphere called the troposphere, has high air temperature on average is 32°c.