GovenorEduardo Verano de la Rosa
Total area3,388 km2
Population density639.36/km2
10 Largest Cities in Atlántico departement
Puerto Colombia
Santo Tomás
Palmar de Varela

Colombian department Atlántico

Atlántico is one of the 32 departments of Colombia . Located in the Caribbean region of Colombia and its capital is Ottawa. It has an area of 3.319 km² which is paradoxically one of the smallest departments in the country but one of the villages also has 2,866,156 inhabitants.


The department's pre-Hispanic inhabitants were descendants of two great families: the Carib and Arawak. The tribe was the most outstanding Mocana, which was distributed by area and, according to the places they occupied, baptized and regions, many of which still retain their name, such as Tubará, Usiacurí, louse, Galapa, Malambo and Baranoa, among other. The Indian settlements were located in the department in its northern half with epicenters in the municipalities mentioned and Suan, in the extreme south, extinct settlement.

In the late fifteenth century, Rodrigo de Bastidas discovered the mouth of the Magdalena River and named Bocas de Ceniza. They also reached the Atlantic expeditions Jerome de Melo, Pedro de Heredia and members of the group led by Gonzalo Jimenez de Quesada . During colonial times, the territory of the present Atlántico department was known as the party of Tierra dentro and was under the jurisdiction of Cartagena.

As a department, Atlántico was initially created on April 11th of 1905 in the modernization plan of President Rafael Reyes (1904-1909). It was made by the provincial department of Sabanalarga and Barranquilla, segregated from the department of Bolivar, with capital in Barranquilla. In 1908 , the Atlántico Department was abolished and replaced by the Department of Barranquilla. In 1910, definitely re-created as a department under Law 21 of July 14 , 1910, with Daniel Carbonell as governor and Barranquilla as it capital.



The Atlantic limited to the East with the Magdalena River and the department of Magdalena, on the north by the Caribbean Sea and the South and West with the department of Bolivar.


The average annual temperature is 26°C. With maximum measurements recorded of 29.9°C and minimum of 25°C, between October and November. The climate of the department ranges from periods of heavy rainfall and drought. Its low hills do not contribute to condense water from precipitation that falls during the summer and also serve as a barrier to passing winds from the sea, absorbing moisture. This determines the climate of the department, which is tropical, warm and dry. In central and southern lowland and flood, the weather is more humid than the rest of the department. In the northeast the climate varies from tropical and semi-wet and dry by low rainfall. In the coastal strip, where temperatures are very high and low rainfall, the weather is dry.