GovenorAlberto Bernal
Total area25,978 km2
Population density79.35/km2
10 Largest Cities in Bolívar departement
El Carmen de Bolívar
María La Baja
Santa Rosa del Sur
San Juan Nepomuceno
San Pablo

Colombian department Bolivar

Bolivar is one of the 32 departments of Colombia. It is located north of the country in the Caribbean Region . Its population is 1,878,993 inhabitants on an area of 25,798 km². Its capital is Cartagena de Indias. In 1984, the World Heritage Committee of UNESCO included in the World Heritage List "Port, Fortress and Monumental of Cartagena de Indias ".



The Department of Bolívar is bordered to the North with the Caribbean Sea and the Atlantico department, to the North-East with Magdalena, to the East with the departments of Cesar and Santander, Antioquia in the South and the West with Sucre and Córdoba. It is the Department more elongated in the country, and less concentric, with its capital located at its northern end, where the headquarters of the departmental government and almost all offices and branches of institutions of the national Government and representation of the diplomatic, civil, military and religious body.

It is also noteworthy that in the Caribbean Sea, the department of Bolivar has an island territory belonging to the Tourism and Cultural District of Cartagena de Indias, comprising the islands of Tierra Bomba, Corales del Rosario, Baru, San Bernardo and Fuerte. While the first Islands are located off the coast of the department, the islands of San Bernardo is located in front of the coast of the department of Sucre and the Fort Island in front of the coast of the Department of Córdoba, specifically against the population of San Bernardo del Viento.


Bolívar is situated in the northern part of Colombia, in the plain of the Caribbean. Most of the bolivarense surface corresponds to the lowlands of the mountains of San Jacinto and Santa Rosa in the North. In the center of the Department is the momposina depression, a flooded area corresponding to low The Magdalena river, which borders the Department from South to North; its tributaries include the Cauca and San Jorge. It was South of the Department is located the Serrania de San Lucas, which extends from Antioquia and is the separation of water between the Magdalena and Cauca rivers.


The fluvial axis of the Department of Bolívar is the Magdalena river, which passes through its eastern side and serves as limit with Santander, Cesar and Magdalena departments, until the Channel of the dam. The main tributaries of the Magdalena are Saint George and Cauca rivers whose mouths are in the center of Bolivar; other flows arriving at Magdalena are the forest, scimitar, Santo Domingo and Tigüí rivers.


The predominantly warm climate is dry in the North and humid in the South, with rainfall that can reach up to 2000 mm per year. In the higher parts of the serranía de San Lucas it enjoys temperate climate.